Posted in Travel Adventure

DuPuis WMA, Indiantown, FL

Oh I know you must be wondering what in the world is so interesting about a millipede going down a gravel road. Well, if you had seen how far he had come you wouldn’t ask. 🙂

His trail actually went quite a ways. I imagine he was doing the same thing I was doing. Trying to find the pond at the end of the road. I hope he finds it, I stopped walking after an hour of hiking and decided to just go back and relax the rest of the day.

I had hoped to stay the weekend here, but I guess it must be a popular spot and all the sites were full for the weekend. Maybe next time I head through here. And yes, I definitely will. It was beautiful and peaceful!

Its about a mile down a gravel road from the highway and you need a permit to unlock the gate. I found out there are actually 5 gates into the area including one to the office, one to an equestrian  center the one for the campers and one just for hikers. I don’t know what the fifth one is for, but that is ok.

0215171315

I can see why hikers would like it here. There are trails upon trail upon trails leading all through this huge park.

While walking back to the pond that I never found, I saw a pair of nesting hawks, a rabbit, lots of chickadees and other small birds. The camping area is pretty secluded and very quiet. They are very strict about noise after certain hours.

When I got up yesterday morning I was greeted by a bird I very rarely see and wish I could have gotten a good picture of it, but he was too far away. It was a Belted Kingfisher. Oh it was adorable. Maybe next time I come through here I can get a picture of it.

The camping sites surround a pond that has a man made floating island in it. The pond itself is fairly shallow clear water and I am told that there are several alligators there, but I didn’t see them. Just birds.

I hope to visit here again in the near future. Oh that reminds me. You may want to visit in the winter time and not in the summer because of Mosquitos!

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

