Posted in Travel Adventure

Stuart, FL

It was such an  odd day yesterday, that I decided to have a change of pace for breakfast this morning with Chick-Fil-A. Their coffee is expensive, but their food prices match other places.

Yesterday, I was heading down to Halpatiokee Regional Park for my next stop. When I called to see about the permit, I was told there is only 1 site there at the end of the trail. Not one site left, but only 1 site. I decided to see if I could find another place to camp.

The omen of the three deer held true yet again! Before I left McDonald’s I got up to go to the restroom and when I got back someone had left a $50 with my backpack. The girl working there said that a man had come by and then left, but she wouldn’t tell me who it was.

I hiked East toward the coast and passed by several waterways including a branch of the St. Lucie River.

There was a lot of construction going on near the waterway, so there wasn’t any wildlife, though I did see my first snake! It was a black racer, I think. I didn’t get a good look at it, just a glimpse of its tail as it slithered away quickly.

Many of the marshy area ponds are dried up, but the flowers still bloom beautifully. As I was looking for a place to camp my next two odd things happened.

First, a man on a bicycle stopped by and said, “I just need to ask you one question.” Ha Ha Ha! oh man… he wanted to know if I was a man or a woman. I broke out laughing and asked him if it was really that hard to tell. I am still laughing about it this morning. I have a good story about another time someone asked me that question a couple of years ago… but that is a story for another day.

Then a guy came up to me and asked me if I would be interested in playing a “take it on the lam” game. It’s a game where you spend a month evading police. If  you are successful, you win $250,000. If you loose and are caught by the police, the game is over. I think I’ll pass on that game.

And last but not least, a young man in his early twenties ran up to me and gave me a rose wishing me a happy valentines day. That made my day.

It was a pleasant way to end a day of laughter. I’m not sure where the next camp ground is. I will have to figure that out in a few minutes. I can only hope my day is as joyful today as it was yesterday.

P.S. Happy Belated Valentines Day!

(better late than never …..)

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

