Posted in Travel Adventure

Fortuna Pond, Yuma, AZ

It did not take me long to get a ride to Yuma, AZ. Boy was I glad. I am definitely NOT a good hitchhiker!. I didn’t get there early enough to hike the 3 1/2 hours out to the camping grounds so I found a safe place in the city to sleep for the night.

I can honestly say what a difference in the weather.When I woke up it was about 52 with a slight chill in the air and the high is expected to be around 72. I hiked out to Fortuna Pond and about 1/2 way there I got a ride.

I am embarrassed to say that I almost got the person lost. The gravel road in is hard to find because its unmarked. If you visit this area, please rely on your GPS when it says “Turn right here”, TURN!

It was well worth the trip out there to rest for the night. There are fishermen who catch trout and sunfish in the pond. I understand the pond is fed from the Gila River, which is fed from the Colorado River. Its sad to hear that so much water is drained from the Colorado, that it actually runs dry not too far south of here. (No, I’m not going to hike down there to find out)

There are several species of birds, including Egrets and Herons. I tried to get a good photo of them, but couldn’t really get close enough.

But it is a very pretty pond and for the most part very peaceful.

There were several RV’s out there and several tents, but it wasn’t overcrowded. I hope to visit it again one day.

The only downside I found was around 1 am the crop planes started circling overhead for about 1/2 hour. Once they were gone, it was peaceful again. I guess that is something to be expected since this area is surrounded by farm land.

0106171033

What a wind this morning! When I got up there was a breeze that made packing my tent a pain in the rear! It kept trying to fly all over the place. I wish I could have gotten a video of me chasing it all over. I’m sure everyone that saw me was chuckling. But its good to start your day with a laugh, even if its on the frustrating side.

I have found that if you laugh your way through frustration that your much better off. I don’t get frustrated when things go awry, I get happy and laugh.

I also started hiking the wrong direction this morning and almost got lost. My GPS was going to take me through all the farmlands all the way to Tucson. I got to a point about 3 1/2 miles down the road where I said Dadgum! There has got to be a better way to go.

One of the campers passed by and offered me a ride. I told him there appeared to be a tourist attraction about a mile down US95 and I figured they had a plug I could use to charge my cell phone. Hehehe….  The Boulder turned out to be a business that made tile and stuff like that. So we agreed he would drop me off at the VFW post and I would ask if they had a plug I could use. I put about 50% charge on my phone and headed toward the highway. I got another ride about a mile away from the VFW post that took me to the interstate.

Now I have made my way back to I8 and YES! there is Frontage Road! Frontage road runs right alongside I8 for most, if not all the way to Tucson.  I will be heading off as soon as I finish my coffee.

What an awesome way to start the day 🙂 Beautiful wake up by birds, chasing a tent in the wind, getting lost, getting a ride, getting a second ride and finally getting coffee.

I can’t wait to see what the afternoon brings!

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

