Posted in Travel Adventure

Tallulah, LA

I was happy this morning that the temperature was much warmer than expected. It allowed me to get an earlier start.

I’m  still not used to this new backpack. After about an hour of walking, I start to get a sharp pain in my right shoulder. So I take a break for about 10-15 minutes.

I have lots of water and small snacks like peanuts and crackers.

It was a pretty lucky day for me again. About 10 miles up the road I was offered a ride to the truck stop area in Tallulah.

I had lunch at McDonalds and went in search of a plug to charge my phone. One of the issues I’ve been running into is my phone battery going out. The other has been trying to find a wifi spot. I’ll try to see which days I’ve missed and catch them up later.

I’ve about 4-5 hours left to get to the next Wildlife management area and its getting dark. Since I know I can’t get there that fast in foot, I decided to see if I could find a place where I could set up a tent along the roadside.

As I was walking toward the highway I was offered a ride again. The problem was, he was only planning on taking me to the TA truck stop. He insisted he was heading to San Antonio, but it became apparent that wasn’t true when he changed his mind and said he had to go to MS first and that he might spend a few days there.

Needless to say, I told him no thanks. He said that no one would mind me being at the truck stop until the rain passed.

A few other people said the same thing when I went inside. When the security man came around, even he didn’t have an issue with me being there. One other hiker came in and stayed the night also.

Little did I know what awaited me in the morning!

(I dont have photos because its been too dark and rainy.)

 

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

