Posted in Travel Adventure

Vicksburgh, MS

Woohoo! You actually get to see what I look like when I’m hiking. It’s not the best, but a lady took this for me at the Old Vicksburgh Bridge.

What a beautiful city and if your a history buff, you will love it. I decided to stay the night at the battlefield campground rather than hiking further. It is more of an RV place, but the have a few tent spots. If you visit, make sure to haggle the price.

Today was a day I did a couple of things I’ve never done before.

The first was to ride on the tailgate of a pickup truck. (The part that opens to the bed). I was hoping the the lady wouldn’t hit a big bump and me go off it, until I realized I’d never done that before. After that it seemed more exciting! She dropped me off right at the river and said I could walk across the old bridge. I don’t think she knew it was gated.

I was undecided which route to take now because the old bridge was gated and closed to all forms of traffic. I could hike about 30 miles south, but someone said I wouldn’t be able to cross there either. Whether to believe that or not I wasn’t sure. The GPS hasn’t steered me wrong yet, but at the same time, I didn’t want to hike that far to find out they were right.

So, my second first was to make a sign that said “Need Ride Across Bridge” and went to stand at the entry ramp to hwy 20 west.

I was ecstatic when the first car to come by offered me a ride! They took me to the first exit on the other side if the river.

Now let me see if I can get some pics of the river added to the post.

 

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

