Posted in Devotionals

Choose Your Words Wisely

It has been on my heart a lot lately about how we have power through the words we speak. This is a little excerpt from a thought put on my heart recently about James 3:6-8

God put it on my heart that even though we can not tame the tongue, we can change what comes out of our mouth, by what is in our heart. We have the ability to change hate into love. With hate we have the power to destroy, but with love we have the power to heal. With hate we have the power to curse, but with love we have the power to bless. With love we also have the power to keep silent.

Recently, I have been going through a lot spiritually, physically and mentally. I have been pushed to the very limits of my faith and felt I was standing at the brink of destruction. Then the other day I was almost pushed over that brink.

I had a dream that something happened. In my dream I had offended someone by sharing the word of God with them. In my dream, I had handled it in such a way that I had the top guy in the company get everyone in the company together in the conference room and I said “If you don’t like me putting things nicely, let me put it in laymen’s terms so you would accept it.” and then continued to bash them down using the “F” word as every other word.

It was just a few days later that the dream was actually starting to happen. When I was told that someone was indeed offended by a thought I shared with them, I had to go outside and pray because I was having a hard time believing God would desire me to actually curse the people out in such a way. When it comes to cursing people I always look to Elisha as an example setter. When Elisha was taunted by young men in 2 Kings 2:23-24. Elisha cursed them in the name of the Lord and then two bears came out of the woods and tore all the young men up.

What stopped me from doing what I did in the dream was the Word of God, especially the scripture God put in front of me just the night before.

Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal among you, which comes upon you for your testing, as though some strange thing were happening to you; but to the degree that you share the sufferings of Christ, keep on rejoicing, so that also at the revelation of His glory you may rejoice with exultation. If you are reviled for the name of Christ, you are blessed, because the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you. Make sure that none of you suffers as a murderer, or thief, or evildoer, or a troublesome meddler; but if anyone suffers as a Christian, he is not to be ashamed, but is to glorify God in this name. For it is time for judgment to begin with the household of God; and if it begins with us first, what will be the outcome for those who do not obey the gospel of God? AND IF IT IS WITH DIFFICULTY THAT THE RIGHTEOUS IS SAVED, WHAT WILL BECOME OF THE GODLESS MAN AND THE SINNER? Therefore, those also who suffer according to the will of God shall entrust their souls to a faithful Creator in doing what is right. 1 Peter 4: 12-19

Knowing that you will share the sufferings of Christ gives you a warning of events that are to come. It is meant to prepare you so that you can stand on the faith you have in God. If you are reviled because you serve the Lord, then you are blessed. We are not to do what is wrong, but we are to rejoice in our sufferings. We should not be ashamed, but we are to glorify God, knowing that He will guard us and protect us from the evils of the world. But it was the words “Therefore, those also who suffer according to the will of God shall entrust their souls to a faithful Creator in doing what is right.” that stood out to me the most. Doing the right thing, in this case, would be to stand on the word of God.

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:2

The word of God teaches us that we should not be as the world, but be transformed. To be conformed to the world would mean to be like them. In this case to be like them would be to curse the people. But God calls us to be transformed, to follow the will and way of God, so that He may be seen by others through you. God is using you because people of the world can not see God, but they can see other people.

The Word of God also calls us to have love.

Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

It can be hard sometimes to keep doing this when we have been hurt, but if you go and pray, God will always give you help. He is not going to let you down and He will give you comfort and support. He will help you to wash your hands of a wrong suffered so you do not become a grudge bearer.

The fact is Christ suffered and even died for who he was and if you have Christ in you, you will also share in that suffering. Jesus foretold this would come about. If you are chosen by God, you will be hated because of His name. Luke 21:17

As in water face reflects face, so the heart of man reflects man. 27:19

If I truly have the love of God in my heart, then the reflection I bear would be a reflection of love.

We each have the ability in us to make a difference in others people’s lives. We can choose to use this ability for good, or for evil. We can choose to reflect love, or we can choose to reflect hate. I will follow my dream, but I will choose to speak with words of love and encouragement. I will choose to build up and not destroy. I will choose to do the right thing and reflect God’s love.

We have power through our words, but we need to use it wisely.

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

