Posted in Devotionals

Faith

I was contemplating my future when I was at church this morning and was actually feeling saddened because of not working. I haven’t even gotten calls back from volunteer organizations yet.

I actually started to question myself and my feelings. I was questioning my faith and thought maybe I have just totally screwed everything up. I was wondering if everything had just been my imagination.

Then the Lord guided me to Matthew 20. When I read it I didn’t understand what the Lord was trying to tell me. This was a story of workers in the vineyard getting paid the same wages whether they worked all day or just a few hours. It teaches of how God’s grace is meant for all and not just a select few. That it doesn’t matter the length of time you have been serving the Lord, but rather the fact that you are serving the Lord.

But I didn’t understand how this applied to me. I have known since last year that the Lord wanted me to be in full service to him, but if I can’t even volunteer my hours then I must be on the wrong track in my feelings.

I went back and read it again and again and that is when the light bulb turned on. There was something here that many may not see.

“And about the eleventh hour he went out and found others standing around; and he said to them, ‘Why have you been standing here idle all day long?’ They said to him, ‘Because no one hired us.’ He said to them, ‘You go into the vineyard too.’” Matthew 20:6-7

The eleventh hour is 5pm, almost the end of the day. These people were not working, not because they didn’t want to, but because no one had hired them. However, the desire to work was there.

What God was telling me is that I need not worry because He has a purpose for me, He will still send me to the vineyard. God knows my desire to serve Him because He looks at the heart (1 Samuel 16:7).

Am I being tested? Maybe. I know that God will take care of my needs and he will not forsake me, but can I be patient? Love is patient. Is it my love for others, or my faith being tested? Faith and love go hand in hand, but they are still separate. You can not have faith without love, but you can not love without faith. It is God’s love for you which gives you faith to love Him and to love others. Love is the key to everything.

You are to abide in Faith, Hope and Love, but the greatest of these is Love. (1 Corinthians 13:13)

It is God’s love which keeps us strong. But can we serve God by loving others the way He desires us to love them?

Yes we can. For with God, all things are possible (Matthew 9:26; Mark 10:27). If we really desire to love others as commanded, then we will look to God to help us and give us strength to bear all things.

And without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him. Hebrews 11:6

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

