Posted in Devotionals

Fear

I remember when I first got saved.  I met a girl from Texas. I don’t remember what we were talking about, but suddenly she asked me “Do you fear God?” I was a little surprised by this question, but I answered “No I don’t. I have no reason to fear Him. God is loving and merciful, why should I fear him?”

Needless to say she laughed at me and although I didn’t understand why she was laughing at me, I just laughed back. It was shortly after that conversation that I developed a passion for reading the bible. I could not get enough of it. I would wake up in the morning reading, I would read at lunch, while I was on break, as soon as I got home, while I was making dinner and while I was chatting. Every spare second I would have my nose in the Bible.

Something I kept running across was the phrase “the fear of God”. The word Fear is all throughout the bible and I came to believe that I didn’t understand the true meaning behind the word.

I decided to study the word and what I learned is that there are different kinds of fear.

yare’ (yaw-ray’); a primitive root; to fear; morally, to revere; caus. to frighten:

The fear as in to be afraid of something or somebody means to be frightened or apprehensive.

Even the disciples were afraid a couple of times. One time was when they went out into a boat on a lake and a furious storm came upon them. The disciples thought they were going to drown so they woke Jesus up and said “Save Us!” Now, I picture this scene. With the dark storm clouds, raging wind and rain, high waves crashing over the side of the small boat. And I see Jesus calmly awaken and with a wave of his hand telling the storm to be gone. What the disciples didn’t understand is the power was inside them to do them exact same thing. They didn’t realize it, but they had the ability to calm the winds. And they were panic stricken, but Jesus was calm. He said. “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” (Matthew 8:23-27; Mark 4:35-41) Why afraid indeed? If they had only realized that with God all things are possible.

Jesus asked why they were so afraid because he knew what they did not know. He knew that they did not understand that if they had but just a grain of faith, they too could calm the storm. It only takes the faith the size of a mustard seed to be able to move even mountains. With that faith nothing will be impossible unto you. (Matthew 17:20) The Greek word for “unto you” is humin and it means to you (with you or by you). This means something is given to you because of your faith. Nothing is impossible because all things are possible for those who follow God.

Although we ourselves are not able to do this on our own, we have a tap into God’s strength. It is with God’s help that everything becomes possible. As Jesus said

“Everything is possible for him who believes.” (Mark 9:23)

Jesus says this because it is our belief in God, our faith in Him that shows us he can and will help us. Many of us only think in terms of the fleshy world. We say no man can help me do something, overcome this, fix that. It’s impossible. But when we learn to tap into God’s strength and wisdom, when we learn to trust in him and when we learn to stop trying to do things our way, we learn that nothing is impossible with God.

Jesus replied, “What is impossible with men is possible with God.” Luke 18:27

It is God that strengthens us and gives us wisdom and understanding. It is with this wisdom and understanding that we learn how to help ourselves, we learn how to deal with the everyday problems, we learn to overcome. Where we fail, God’s strength and love move in and win the day because He is in us.

“I say to you, My friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body and after that have no more that they can do. But I will warn you whom to fear: fear the One who, after He has killed, has authority to cast into hell; yes, I tell you, fear Him! Are not five sparrows sold for two cents? Yet not one of them is forgotten before God. Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear; you are more valuable than many sparrows.” Luke 12:4-7

Jesus told his disciples not to be afraid of man, because man can not harm you. Man can destroy your flesh, but he cannot take away your life. There is only one that can send you to hell and that is God. You should fear God – honor him.

The fear here means to Revere Morally. To show devoted honor to God. God is the one that can determine where you’re going to be for eternity, not man. You should respect Him for that. But if you keep reading Jesus also tells them not to be afraid because God never forgets his children. Even though God has the power and authority to totally destroy us if he really wanted to we are not to be afraid of God. God loves us and Jesus teaches how much God loves us by using the sparrows as an example. He would not leave even one sparrow and He is NOT going to leave you.

And you know what? It’s the same all through the bible. We are not to be afraid because God is greater than anything in world(1John 4:4). We can overcome anything because we are God’s children and He will never leave us or forsake us. (Hebrews 13:5)

God is greater than man. Always has been… always will be.

Because God is greater than any man, he gives you what you need to overcome any situation. You already have that strength in you; you are a child of God. But you have to know how to tap into that power.

And how do you that? You learn God’s truth, you love Him, you praise Him and worship Him, you trust in Him and most of all you have Faith in Him. All things are possible to those who believe.

Yes, it’s the same all the way through the bible, Trust in God, lean on him, Fear him. God does not change the meaning behind His word every day. Fear God and believe and he will bless you greatly. It’s a promise in His word and His Word is truth.

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

