Posted in Devotionals

Selfishness

“Everything in moderation” Many people relate this to things such as eating and drinking, but this also applies to other things such as spending time doing things and as well as our behavior. This has been told to me many times as Balance.

One of my biggest flaws is I never think I am good enough for people. I know your thinking “but that is not a flaw, is it? Isn’t that humility?” Yes it is, but it is humility that is distorted or warped. In my work, I am a perfectionist; I detest making mistakes. Yes, being a perfectionist helps me to do a better job, but when taken to the extreme you are defacing yourself because you actually put yourself down, you demean yourself. I also tend to put others above me so much sometimes that I think I am helping them, when I am actually hurting them and also myself.

We are supposed to love our neighbors as ourselves. Not more than ourselves, not less than ourselves, but AS ourselves. It says that in Leviticus 19:18, 19:34; Matthew 19:19, 22:39; Mark 12:31, 12:33; Luke 10:27; Romans 13:9; Galatians 5:4 and James 2:8.

“Love your neighbors as yourselves”

We can’t love others if we don’t love ourselves. We are to put their needs before ours, yes… but they are not better than us, they are equal to us and we are equal to them.

Yep… can’t you just see it? I love ya bro and God loves ya, but I am a miserable wretch that doesn’t belong on this earth. Wow now isn’t that just uplifting?

This is pity seeking, not sharing love. Sharing love would be to say I love ya and God loves ya, let me share his love with you. Let me Tell you how much he loves you by telling you how he has loved me. Let me tell you what he has done for me.

Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves. Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others. Philippians 2:3-4

Let me give you a couple of definitions real quick.

Vainflory: kenodoxia (ken-od-ox-ee’-ah); empty glorying, i.e. self-conceit:

What this is saying is that you should not do anything through strife or self conceit… but to humble yourself and to consider others first. But you are to look after your own things as well as those of  others.

How can you show someone what salvation is if you loose yours? How can you share God’s love with others if you lower yourself so low that he love doesn’t show?

Author:

I am just a person on a life journey to who knows where!

Leave a Reply

